Sentimental Sundays.

Where in the world is Schanell? That’s the name of this blog. So I figured I should give an update after five months of silence. Lucky you. Ready for some terrible grammar, pointless stories, mixed together with some comical self-deprecation? Fabulous. Me too.

 

I am sitting here at Wash Perk and have witnessed two very awkward first dates. It’s painful to watch. No that’s a lie….it’s hilarious. Then I was wondering for the longest time why people are looking at me…. I realized it’s because I have this shirt on. Keeping it real.

photo-60

To be perfectly honest I really don’t feel like blogging; however, I am moving and felt it fitting for an update. Quick back-story…. My landlord sold the house I live in to another lady. This new lady has decided to make the house a pot friendly vacation rental; therefore, does not want someone with my profession around. So she gave me 20 days to move. Sad. After nearly three years I have been forced to find a new place to live. I found a place in Golden, CO. Cool. I strongly dislike change. Remember that. Or don’t.

Seriousness: I’ve been reading this book on introversion. Yep. I am THAT nerdy. I have been told that in my profession I am going to struggle because of this trait (blah blah blah); however, this book is proving that may not be the case. Granted I will struggle regardless, but that’s not the point I’m making here.

Here are a couple of my favorite quotes so far: Skip to the bottom if you hate reading.

 

“We know from myths and fairy tales that there are many different kinds of powers in this world. One child is given a light saber, another a wizard’s education. The trick is not to amass all the different kinds of power, but to use well the kind you’ve been granted.”

“The trick for introverts is to honor their own styles instead of allowing themselves to be swept up by prevailing norms.”

“Now that you’re an adult, you might still feel a pang of guilt when you decline a dinner invitation in favor of a good book. Or maybe you like to eat alone in restaurants and could do without the pitying looks from fellow diners. Or you’re told that you’re “in your head too much”, a phrase that’s often deployed against the quiet and cerebral.

Or maybe there’s another word for such people: thinkers.”

-Susan Cain

Read more here –>(https://www.goodreads.com/author/quotes/4101935.Susan_Cain?page=1)

 

Things that make you go hmmmm….

  1. Getting a charley horse in your ab muscle.
  2. Having 911 called on you as you are working because your lights on the car are flashing. Thank you “concerned citizen”.
  3. High School Reunions. Ten years! photo-61
  4. Habakkuk 2:2-3: God is good. 
  5. I got my first bar muscle up today, so I’m basically on my way to be a ninja.
  6. Peanut Butter Banana Hamburger for the win. Try it. You will thank me later.
  7. Go do something random today. I did. I met a lady named Melinda in the process.

Here’s to Sentimental Sunday: Rasta-Rilla Gorilla Run 2011. It was my dad’s idea.  🙂

photo-11

Later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sentimental Sundays.

  1. cneiderworder56 says:

    Gorilla run was fun. Could have done without your guest. Hahaha. Like honoring own style.

  2. Sharon says:

    Soooooo, you are still alive out there. Good to know!

  3. Susan says:

    I love your blog.
    Let’s get you up to Flatirons to work with hitters. Yes?

Leave a Reply

