My dad said to kick you in the shin…

Dear Mom and Dad,

I love you both dearly. You have taught me so much and have shaped me into the women I am today. Somethings you have taught me, however, I will bring up in this post only because I think I kinda wish they were true, but in reality, I don’t think they are. You are both still my favorites : )

Love,

Schanell

When I was younger I got picked on a lot. Waa Waaa. No need for your pity or psycho-analyzation… just keep reading. Thanks. At one point I wore braces, glasses, AND an eye patch. I was about a foot taller than all the boys, and could beat all the boys in arm wrestling competitions (that I challenged them to…of course).  Anyways I would act all tough like my friends taunting and sly comments didn’t bother me, then I would go home crying with my feelings hurt. My dad told me once…. “Well Schanell the next time they are mean to you, just kick them in the shins.” And did I ever!!!  I’m pretty sure that if you were to read my yearbook comments there would be many references to how I kicked boys in the shins ALL THE TIME.

My mom, on the other hand, would tell me to say, “Sticks and stones will break my bones, but words will never me.” I used to believe that and repeat that to myself over and over.  I can even remember telling that to my classmates….and when that didn’t work I would resort to kicking them in the shins. True story.

Man there have been a million times in the past month that I wish  I could have kicked some people in the shins when the things they said hurt my feelings, but unfortunately I know it would ultimately not make me feel any better or solve any problems.  For example I can’t really kick my boss in the shin when he says hurtful things (well I could, but I would probably get fired). I also don’t think telling someone a fun catchy rhyme involving stone, sticks, and how their words don’t hurt my feelings would really help either party involved. BUMMER.

So I guess I say all of this to restate the importance of speaking the truth IN LOVE. Also, kicking people in the shins doesn’t solve anything (but does get the boys to leave you alone for a while), sticks and stones can leave bruises, and words do hurt.

Disclaimer:  I am not perfect and know that I say hurtful things. This is my blog and I can write what I want. AND it doesn’t mean by any stretch of the imagination that I have it all figured out.  Read the definition of a blog:

” A web site on which an individual or group of users record opinions, information, etc. on a regular basis.” – google

So STOP holding it against me/throwing it in my face when I screw up and fail to commit to things, prime some area of my life, or fail to speak the truth in love. Thanks.

Super Duper Side Note:

Also…. when I googled “Why I can’t commit to anything” guess how many hits there were….

guess?

Answer: 202,000,000.

So clearly I am not alone on thinking I can’t commit to anything. Phew.

Reframe moment:

I was talking to my dad about my ‘inability to commit’ and he told me about a quote from Uncle Buck where the principle tells Buck that his “niece is a bad egg …She is a twiddler, a dreamer a SILLY HEART and she is a jabberbox.” Uncle Buck sticks up for her and expresses how proud he is of his niece for being herself.

That. is. so. awesome.

I’d rather be a crazy, all over the place, idealistic, unrealistic, pond-hoping SILLY HEART, then settle for a mediocre existence living someone else’s version of my life.

Done ranting.

Eat some bacon.

Happy Monday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My dad said to kick you in the shin…

  1. You are *beautiful*, strong, lovely, kind, genuine, and awesome. Hands down, no questions asked. Sometimes life kicks us in our own shins, and I love that we don’t have to kick back. Time heals all wounds, and you will commit to the things you love. No need to beat yourself up over it or worry about it. I guarantee you no one else is really noticing 🙂 We’re all too busy either committing or not committing to our own stuff. Hugs! Julie

  2. Derald Shaw says:

    my shins still hurt lol. Miss you!!!!!!!!

  3. Schanell says:

    Miss you Derald!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Leasa says:

    You crack me up…and these blog entries keep getting better. The biggest thing I have learned in life is that when someone says something to me that is cruel and mean…I soon realize that it is their own insecurities coming out. They are insecure (about something) and need to put you down in order to make themselves feel better. When I think about it like that, I have more compassion for the person…but I still want to kick them in the shin.

Leave a Reply

