Verb: to commit.

If I were to publish a dictionary I would define the word commitment as follows: to commit 1) to decide to bind oneself to something ….similar to a ball and chain, peanut butter stuck on the top of your mouth, gluing your fingers together with super glue, white on rice. 2)  a self-imposed prison sentence.

That is how I feel about commitment. Serious. What the heck. I love love love being able to up and go to some foreign country on a weeks notice, live independently, and eat 1.5 lbs of veggies in one sitting. I guess most of you reading this already know this about me, but now that it is a new year I think it would be a wise idea to reframe my thoughts about commitment. In order to do so I have solicited the help of some wise souls (well at least I googled “commitment quotes”). After spending some time reading and pondering there meaning, I think I have successfully or at least for the moment reframed my thoughts on commitment.

Here are some of the quotes:

“No horse gets anywhere until he is harnessed. No stream or gas drives anything until it is confined. No Niagara is ever turned into light and power until it is tunneled. No life ever grows great until it is focused, dedicated, disciplined.”

“The irony of commitment is that it’s deeply liberating — in work, in play, in love. “-Anne Morris

“If you don’t make a total commitment to whatever you’re doing, then you start looking to bail out the first time the boat starts leaking. It’s tough enough getting that boat to shore with everybody rowing, let alone when a guy stands up and starts putting his life jacket on.” — Lou Holtz

“The relationship between commitment and doubt is by no means an antagonistic one. Commitment is healthiest when it is not without doubt but in spite of doubt. “-Rollo May

I doubt you are still reading this but if you are you may be wondering ..”well so what, thanks Schanell for copying and pasting a bunch of quotes that you didn’t write?”. Not only is that a common thought when reading this blog, but I thought I would attempt to pull it together. Here it goes….it has become somewhat of a running joke that I do most things in 4 month chunks. I travel overseas and last about 4 months, work at a job for 4 months, live in one place for 4 months…you get the drift. Well  I am kinda sick of being the butt of my own jokes and have decided that this year will be different. Hopefully. “Wow Schanell so insightful” Not. Whatever.

I guess I write all this to ask you, my dear blog followers, what will be different for you this year? No resolutions or goals or and all that smelly mushy gushy stuff. Just simply…What WILL be different? What is your vision? What are your passions? ….Got em? Well go make shit happen.

Side story: So I am a Crossfitter. Pull-ups are my enemy. My weakness. However, a couple of months ago I started working on them every time I worked out. Guess what… I can do pull-ups now (not very many, but a couple in a row), and believe it or not I actually kinda like em now. So that story is to show you that you can shy away from your weaknesses and fears OR you can strengthen your weakness, and stand up to your fears. Who knows you might find that your weaknesses can become strengths and add to your list of accomplishments, and facing your fears will challenge you to do something beyond anything you have every imagined.

Sorry for the spelling and grammar errors, but I am off to do some more pull-ups.

Do something random.

Later. 

 




This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Verb: to commit.

  1. Susan Elrick says:

    Schanell: when you look at your plate of breakfast bacon and eggs in the morning, you have a perfect picture of commitment. The chicken was involved. The Pig was committed. xoxox susan

  2. This is brilliant. I’m totally with you, girl, and the older you get, the easier it gets!! To commit, that is 🙂

  3. Gale says:

    Lets not forget your 4 year commitment to college. 4 must be your magic number 🙂

Leave a Reply

