I just CAN’t.

“When you’re honest with yourself and your limitations, often times the choices to be made will reveal themselves. “—me

Why is it that limitations have such a bad rap? When people admit that they are unable, unwilling, or god forbid they can’t do something, people are often times flabbergasted and label you as a quitter, downer, or negative. Setting “healthy boundaries” has received so much praise lately that it has got me thinking about what the difference really is between the two. Honestly I think that limitations and boundaries, when boiled down to the core of their meaning, are basically the same thing.

Our culture has gotten it into their minds that we can do ANYTHING. I would have to disagree. I can’t add (or do any type of math for that matter), play basketball, do pull-ups, sing, be an astronaut, gymnast, or float on water (that is just a short list). I just can’t. But I bet your all thinking well with God anything is possible. Yes, I won’t disagree with you on that, however, those things may be possible with God, but He also may say no. So that brings me back to my point…we all have limitations, whether we want to admit it or not.

I recently was at a crossroads and had to admit that, yes I was capable of the job in front of me, but no, I couldn’t do that along with something I had already committed to. It wasn’t easy admitting that, and I feel like I have let some people down in the process. However, the second I admitted that I had limitations everything began falling into place, and for the first time in a long while I felt at peace.

Of course that peace was squashed when I was questioned by some people close to me, but have decided that I must live my life, not their version of my life.

So where in the world is Schanell….. well I’m here, fighting, kicking, challenging, and embracing this life that is before me. So either walk along side me or get out of the way.

Over and out.

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I just CAN’t.

  1. Go Schanell! So excited for what’s ahead of you.

  2. mary miller says:

    Sometimes that is just what you need to do…walk your walk and keep true to your path that God has made for you…and your right sometimes you need to walk alone when no one understands but your at peace with your decision…God has a way to see you through. Let me know what your up to and I will pray for that journey. Love Ya Mary

  3. Sharon and Bob says:

    Schanell, I haven’t heard anything from you for a while. Sounds like you are still dealing with your plans for the future. It will work out. Give me a call sometime. Lots of love to you.

  4. Kelly Doak says:

    Amen SIster – I just can’t TOO!!! Love ya!

  5. Leasa says:

    As Henry Ford said, “whether you think you can or think you can’t, you’re right.”

Leave a Reply

