Lesson from my dog….

Lesson 1:

So I have been taking my little yorkie, Ariel, on a lot of walks lately. Now she thinks that every time I put on my shoes to leave the house we are going for a walk. Unbelievable.  Anyways I took her out in the Washington park area on her retractable leash thing.  Yesterday as we were walking, well everyday we walk; she bolts out in front of me every time we are crossing a major street.  I always say, “Hey Ariel…stop”, she of course stops, but reluctantly as she pulls on her leash with a little whine.  It’s like she saying, “ Come on Schanell, lets go….those big metal moving things will stop”. She still hasn’t figured out that cars don’t stop for dogs that race out in front of them. I, on the other hand, know that cars rarely stop in time to avoid little dogs, or people for that matter. So I put up with her little whine, tighten the leash, wait for the car to pass and proceed.

I say all of this because today it dawned on me that I do that exact thing with God. I know God is far more caring and doesn’t put us on a ‘leash’, but he is always watching out for our best interests. I relate this to the leash analogy because when I don’t get the job we want, we get injured, financial problems, anything that we face in life, I tend to pull on the hypothetical ‘leash’ whine, complain, doubt, and question God.  So what is the lesson I learned here… well, wait and walk along side the big guy up stairs…. He knows what’s up.

In other news:

Hot yoga is one of the best inventions ever! Its kinda like doing yoga in India. Wonderful. Bliss. ( I would love a hot yoga year long membership for my bday)

I miss my students in Kazakhstan, and Miss Abby Menter… and some other PCV’s.

Peter 5: 10 ” And the God of all grace, who called you to his eternal glory in Christ, after you have suffered a little while, will himself restore you and make you strong, firm and steadfast.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

