Back to school…

“Back to school. Back to school, to prove to Dad that I’m not a fool. I got my lunch packed up, my boots tied tight; I hope I don’t get in a fight. Oh! Back to school… back to school… back to school. Well, here goes nothing.”

 

Well after a very restful vacation I am so ready to get back to work! I’m not sure I really accomplished a whole lot so I am going to write down some things I did accomplish….

  1. Planned all my upcoming clubs for school and am way stoked about them!
  2. Learned how to express wants in Kazakh, and ask if I can help coach the girls in volleyball.
  3. Went to a Kaz style club with Abby and her host sisters. It was like ladies 80’s night! Saw some of my colleagues there, new friends? Maybe?
  4. Pushed a car out of a snow bank.
  5. Ate at a German Pub.
  6. Made a salad that looked like a pineapple.
  7. Have been frozen and thawed like 44 times….with 22 of those being trips to the bathroom in the middle of  cold nights.
  8. Got together a little Kaz care package for some friends and fam in the states. I think this will be the year that I make up for missing my mom’s birthday 3 years in a row. Oh yeah… get excited mom! Ok not too excited, but it is homemade, and no it’s not horsemeat : )
  9. Chatted with some friends and family… it was great. My uncle even dressed up like Santa on Skype!

10. Found out one of my best friends is getting married and I get to be in her wedding!

11. Tentatively planned some up-coming trips. Oh yeah. By upcoming I mean like 5 months away.

12. Convinced myself that I wasn’t completely useless over the last week or two.

 

That’s all I can think of right now…

 

Anyways it is a new year! Can you believe its 2011!! I’ve been out of college for 3 years… and there is only 3 years until my 10 year high school reunion. OMG.

 

Ok here’s the deal… I’m not a big fan of ‘New Years Resolutions’ but I am a fan of goals. So I’ve decided this is going to be an interactive blog in order to see …1) Who actually reads my blogs 2) I want you to think of a goal you have for the new year and post it below. Then next year around this time we’ll see how we did. Are you onboard? Ok good! I’ll start…. One of my goals for the year is to finish reading the entire Bible.

 

Now it’s your turn! Looking forward to reading them, and reaching some goals. Take care!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back to school…

  1. Jennifer Heppert says:

    My goal for this year is to be more outwardly focused and do at least four service events here in NC!

  2. Teri Owen says:

    I am with you on the Bible reading —- let’s see if I can start AND finish the WHOLE thing this year!!!!!

  3. Rose says:

    I love Billy Madison !!! I however was not ready to go back to work. We only took the Thursday and Friday of each week. So Christmas vacation was very short.

    Resolutions: I don’t like the either – but Pastor Mitch challenged us to read with him the bible all the way through. We are using BibleGateway.com reading plan. So I am trying to keep up. Currently I have not done Friday, Saturday or Today yet. Better get busy I guess.

    See I read it !! Love reading it !! Take care.

    Rose

  4. jules says:

    Well we actually got some more snow this weekend….so I guess we can officially call it “winter” here in metro Colorado….we’ve been quite lucky with sunny days and beautiful mountain views!!!
    I have actually begun my 2011 goal….and so far so good. Being a new resident of Lafayette, Colorado my goal is to become a part of the community and make some fun friends. To date….I have joined a bookgroup, attended my first (of many) neighborhood gatherings (fantastic neighbors), and have been going to a ZUMBA class with my co-worker/friend. I also jog/walked the Lafayette 5k Oatmeal race with my exuberant pup Stewie!! Hopefully with the warm weather eventually making its way to Colorado my goals will expand, but I’m pretty happy with the results thus far….
    So goodluck to all who have set a goal(s) for 2011….Geronimo!!

    • Leasa says:

      That Jules, she is soooooo my sister! My goal: Get my writing mojo on! So far, so good. I wrote 20 pages in 5 days the first week of January. Now to keep that going… And, more YOGA. One can never have too much yoga in life. Namaste. LUV U, Leasa

  5. Kimmy says:

    I love your goals!! My biggest goal of the year is to run a marathon in Greece with YOU!!!!! I love you so much and I am so proud of you! Stay warm! Maybe a bucket next to your bed so you don’t freeze at night? Oh and another goal is to get you a package sometime before 2010 🙂

  6. Jim Lupkin says:

    I did read the whole bible!

    This year I am going to build a stable and successful Facebook Marketing Agency.

    Quite simple, but fulfills all personal goals in a direct or indirect way.

    I am proud of you girl!

    Jim

  7. Schanell says:

    OH yeah!!! I’m so glad you are all sharing! Keep bringin it on!

  8. Schanell says:

    This is from Mrs. Ashley Simonds…(minor technical difficulties with wordpress)… ” So fun to follow your travels and adventures! Just read your most recent blog, and was super excited to hear about your goal for 2011…I started reading the 365-day chronological bible this year and am going to get through the whole thing in 2011, no matter what! Hope all is well, friend!”

Leave a Reply

