‘That just happened..”

Have you ever had one of those moments where you say to yourself, “That just happened…”??? Well I just had a weekend full of em’!

Firstly, I would like to report that my new Sunday afternoon routine consists of hauling water. I would say that as of right now, check back in a year, I enjoy it. It makes me feel like I’m intergrading, and its good training for the marathon.

‘That just happened moment’ montage:

  1. My host sister, Asem, decided that I couldn’t wash my own hair properly in the banya. So… She grabbed the soap and washed my hair for me. I’m happy to report that my hair is squeaky clean!
  2. I was doing a workout in my room (the size of a closet) and my host family saw me, and asked what the heck I was doing. So I told my family about my yoga and various workout videos. This all lead to us doing P90X yoga in the living room, followed by a kickboxing workout, and concluded with a dance party to Shakira!! Now we are going to workout together every night!
  3. My counterpart, Nurgul, told me I was directing a Christmas play.
  4. Maidina and I labeled the whole house with Kazakh, Russian, and English words.
  5. I went pee outside and the toilet paper was frozen.
  6. My nose hair froze the second I walked outside.
  7. As I was taking the pictures in the previous blog my camera froze and stopped working for a bit.

Some of you asked what I needed from home: A planner would be stellar. Some upcoming holiday decorations would be awesome. Also, just some love from the states. Check out the goodies page.

Love you all!!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to ‘That just happened..”

  1. Leasa says:

    I cannot believe that you brought TONY with you. Really? Who needs p90X when you get to haul water everyday? Ha ha. Charlie just finished P90X and I also joined him for some yoga and kempo…it was actually really fun. Nice to share it with others. I love the frozen nose hairs, camera, and TP…what an adventure. Your new family seems to love you and your workout antics. I love the hilarious stories and the yoga picture with the mom laughing, the dad on the couch with a phone, and the little boy becoming the next Dali Lama–really so sweet. You are not only learning about their culture, but also sharing our culture. Way to go! Love U!

  2. jules says:

    Yes, nice to have found the host family you were meant to have!! Love the yoga photo. I am sure they are learning lot’s of new things from you and opening up their world as well. That in itself is very cool! Keep up all the antics and great stories….and wow, you have more snow than we do! Love you~ jules

  3. Susan says:

    Does it get warm there? If so, when does that happen?
    I’m shivering at the reading of your post!

  4. Sharon and Bob says:

    Looks like you and your family are bonding and what a great way to bond. Schanell, now you know what I, as a young country girl, experienced in my daily life on the ranch. I had to haul water from a cistern several years as we did not having running water and I used an outdoor toilet. I do sympathize with you. It definitely builds character. Keep up the spirit. Sounds like you are moving forward and adjusting to the experience of it all. Love you much! Keep us informed.

Leave a Reply

