Its beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

Christmas Pageant?

Well it just dumped like a foot a snow here in Sarkand, and it is still snowing! It’s beautiful, don’t get me wrong, but peeing outside sure spices things up a bit : )

Teaching is starting to get revved up and I’m keeping busy. Right now I teach 16 hours a week, plan with the local teachers, play/coach volleyball, apparently I am planning a Christmas pageant, answer a million questions from people who want to speak English, make visuals, figure out what is going on around me, ‘wash’ my clothes by hand, study Kazakh, collect water from the river… ya know the usual.

I was walking home today and had this realization that Kazakh people are wayyy tougher than Americans. Well maybe you are tough, so I should just say they are way tougher than me. Not only that, they do all of this and still manage to walk in high heals on ice with unbelievable grace, and look like super models all the time. I, on the other hand, am a hott freaking mess!! My hair is a grease ball, my clothes smell, my shoes are not high heals and I fall all the time, and 1 pm rolls around and I’m dead tired. They work til 7 without yawning once! Oi! It will get easier. I will get tougher.  2 years: So much to do, so little time. Teach lots of English, learn at least a little more Kazakh, and celebrate successes! Who is coming for a visit? Who wants to meet me in India? Who is running the marathon in Greece with me?

This whole experience is so surreal. Kazakhstan has kinda just hugged me up and I realized that I have lost track of time, home, and how I got here. Little things like birthdays I’ve missed or forgotten, holiday’s that I feel distant from, and people I haven’t reached out to. All of you reading this are incredibly important people in my life, and have shaped me into the woman I am today. Thank you so much for who you are and all of your support! I now have Skype so I would love to chat and reconnect! Schanell10… Email me and we can figure out a time… I’m 13 hours ahead.

Ok so back to this Christmas Pageant shenanigans. If anyone has some scripts, ideas, songs, guidance, sanity pills.. please, please, please email them to me! I will be sure to take lots of pictures!! Yay. Oh did I tell you we’re calling it the “Best American Christmas EVER”. Oh and I’m starting a girls group. Anyone have some resources on that? Schanell5@gmail.com or schanell10@gmail.com.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Its beginning to look a lot like Christmas…

  1. Rosalie says:

    Wow those are so cool pictures! The school seems somewhat advanced with the computers and whiteboard, more so than I might have imagined which is exciting to see! The snow is amazing!
    I’ve never done anything for a Christmas pageant and don’t know more than I’ve seen in movies, sorry :(. If you give me a bit more info, I can see what our group might come up re: the girls group. What is the age range and is there a format or study requirement?
    Thanks and so glad we can stay connected!
    Rosalie
    PS-Getting closer on our adoption! I’ll keep you posted, but otherwise I would so be in on joining you elsewhere in the world.

  2. Rosalie says:

    Also, we are going to post some of your blog posts on our new travel board. Folks from Wash Park who are now in other parts of the world will have their updates kept on a special board in our Barista room!

  3. You are truly amazing ~ keep up the great work!
    Miss you and love you..

Leave a Reply

