Back at it…

My mini “vacation” to Zhanatas is now over and I’m back at it. Zhanatas is a literal ghost town 3.5 hours outside Tapaz. I spent 1 day traveling by train to Taraz, two days with an awesome PCV, Laura, and 1 more day traveling back to Almaty. She let me teach some classes and showed me what life was like as a volunteer. It was awesome! I didn’t take a single picture because if my dad saw where I could be living for the next 2 years he would 1. have a heart attack 2. fly here IMMEDIATELY  to take me home. I don’t want either of those to happen so I didn’t take any evidence of my travels : )

Lets see… I ate a greek salad this week. Delicious. It was not real feta cheese, but there was lettuce! Real lettuce.

Its Abby’s  birthday this weekend. That equals chocolate cake, coffee, and signing.

Oh and I was teaching Past Simple the other day to a group of 6th graders. (to be—>was) I was like “‘to be’ what does that mean?” blank stares… So I asked my trainer, who speaks Kazakh, what ‘to be’ is in Kazakh…only to find out they don’t have a ‘to be’ verb like we do in English. ha I’m a spaz.

Ok… Over and out

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Back at it…

  1. mary miller says:

    I think your so right about your dad…sometimes the less we know as a parent the better.
    It is so beautiful here now the trees are turning color and even though the last few days have been in the 80″s the nights cool off. I love this time of the year. I guess I need to get my fall wreath up outside, part of me like that and part of me doesn’t…snow soon to follow…Ug.
    You should have seen Bart’s girls this morning…homecoming week and they dress-up each day. Today was recycle day and they were all dressed in trash-bag dresses and paper plate hats…so funny.
    Well girl take care and I look forward to your next adventure here…
    Love Ya!!!!

  2. Kristen Kelly says:

    Hey you. Hoping you have a great day tomorrow.
    On Monday I started my 30 pushups, 30 tri dips routine. You keep me motivated. By the time we see each other, we’ll look like body builders. LOL! Have a good weekend.

  3. Susan says:

    Hey Schanell!
    I love to read your posts!
    I’ve just met a coach who spent 12 years in Khaz doing missionary work. Are you interested in corresponding with her? She lived near the capital. And, of course, I told her about you. 🙂
    Susan

  4. Rosalie says:

    Haha wow…what an adventure! Love Greek salad so I hope you keep finding fun food to eat. Oh and language translations are sooo confusing especially when the other language doesn’t follow the rules like we do in English? Someone in my spanish class said the same thing…why can’t they all just make their language be a translation of English? Haha…the beauty of diverse cultures and the results of the Babylon tower. Oh well…keep at it and you may just learn that Kazak can at times be easier to use to express something! Can’t wait for your next post!

  5. HI,

    I think your DAD would find any reason to come and bring you back home!! 🙂 You are missed very much but we know that God is taking great care of you. Your blog is awesome and we love reading about your adventures and seeing pictures.

    ‘lola’

  6. Sharon and Bob says:

    Schanell, I’m banking on you. Sounds like you had quite a travel experience with another volunteer. So when do you move to the new location? Sounds like a third- world place from what you didn’t tell us. Main thing is to be safe. I am real glad your Dad and Mom can talk with you. Will that be an option in your new location?Hope to get a new address to send things. Will check with your Dad.

    We spent three nights in the mountains. It was beautiful with fall in the air and some showers. Colors were great and fun was had by all.

    Keep us all posted. Love your entries. Love you and be happy.

  7. Rose says:

    Have you gotten a chance to meet Teri and Clint yet ??

    Glad you are having some nice experiences. Send those pics anyway. I think your dad would be 1. shocked at first, 2. proud of you for the sacrifices you are making for something you believe in.

  8. jules says:

    Some of the best things about traveling are the unexpected situations…I know I have traveled through areas that my dad wouldn’t have particularly wanted to know I had been exposed to, but some of those places were the ones that have stuck with me and helped me realize my place in the world! Savor every moment…
    jules

  9. Bob Frauman says:

    Schanell….. you are so amazing, & continually in my prayers!!!

Leave a Reply

