A day in the life of Schanell….

Well… I hope I don’t bore you all to tears. Word of warning… if any of you are annoyed by bad grammar and spelling discontinue reading this post. : )

Typical day….

I wake up up around 6:00 am. I put on my headlamp, shoes, and venture out to the hole/toilet. That can be an adventure some days… For instance: Running into my host dad as he is headed out of the hole…chatting with the local spider on the toilet paper roll… or fending off stray dogs that have ventured into the house/compound thing. Then I do my daily push-ups and dips. 30 each. I am going to be ripped in two years. I then go out to the outdoor kitchen dealio and light up the gas stove to make some delicious American coffee…collect the breakfast that my host mom leaves out (overnight.. so the cat gets first dibs on the bread and cheese). And lately I’ve been waking up to finish up lesson plans and homework (they keep us busy here!). On occasion I get a phone call from friends or family and chit-chat for a bit…which is my favorite!

Off to school around 8:30. Kazakh lessons for 4 hours! Home for an hour lunch. Then back to school at 1:30 to observe the other volunteer’s lessons and prepare to teach.

I teach a 6th and 7th graders on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursday. They are all rockstars! I get a lot of blank stares at times, and then the lightblub flickers for a moment of English clarity!!! It is the best feeling ever. I usually get home around 6:30 pm …eat with the host family, and start planning some more lessons and doing Kazakh homework.

Woohoo… exciting eh? Well I’m loving it and time is flying by. I am going on a site visit next week to Taraz. Leaving on Tuesday night and arriving on Wednesday morning…oh yeah!

I will try to get some pictures up soon… I am going to Almaty this weekend and looking for a flash drive so I can upload/download pics!

Love you all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A day in the life of Schanell….

  1. Rose says:

    Have you met Terri yet ? I think she is in Almaty. Glad things are going well for you.
    Sounds like quite the adventure !!

  2. Talk about enjoy the experience!!!

    Sharing is caring as the “cats would say” 🙂

    The miracle is not to walk on water. The miracle is to walk on the green earth in the present moment, to appreciate the peace and beauty that are available now. Thich Nhat Hanh

    Love and miss you!

  3. Kristen Kelly says:

    Umm, did you say toilet hole??? I am scared.

    I love the 30 pushups and 30 dips a day. I think I will do that also and think of you while I am doing it and we can compare muscles when you get back.

    I laugh as I right this. I will do the pushups and dips, but you will be ripped and I will still have the upper body strength of a freaking kitten. Darn it.

    Have a good day.

  4. Kimmy!!!!! says:

    I love it!! I think I am going to get in on your 30 push up and dips a day and when you come back we can arm wrestle! This is such an amazing experience! I am so proud of you and maybe you could teach your little kids some American slang like “Holla” or “Whats up” I would like to spread my language to the world! Haha. I miss you so much!

    And cat hair never hurt anyone (okay so thats a lie because I am sure cat hair is responsible for some sort of allergy related death BUT i think you are golden)

    Love you! Kim

  5. Sharon and Bob says:

    Your day sounds like it is pretty busy. I bet you had no idea how busy you would be. I bet the young ones love you. Must be quite the experience teaching young ones who struggle with understanding.

    Not sure I would like sharing my food with a cat, but at least you have coffee to wash it down.

    Schanell, I find it hard to believe that you are sharing your bathroom out doors with bugs and other people. (You will be a hardened girl when you return.) Love the daily exercise program.

    Keep up that positive attitude and keep us as informed as you can. We love you!!!!

  6. Rosalie says:

    So great to hear from you Schanell! You’ll do great with the kids. I like hearing about your life in Kaz! What else have you been eating? Can’t wait to see some pics and hear about the city! Love ya!

  7. mary miller says:

    Sounds kind of exciting…and that things are going well. Time will pass quick with all the things going on!!! Keep up the good work and enjoy it. God Bless!!!!!!!! Love ya Randy and Mary

  8. Leasa says:

    I love it…thanks for the detailed description of your daily life. It gives me a much better idea of what you are doing. And, it makes me even more excited about your experience.

    You know they say that squatting to relieve yourself is very healthy…as it is anatomically better for the intestines. Whatever that is worth…happy squatting!

    Keep the updates coming. Love you! Leasa

  9. Evan Hoffmann says:

    Schanell!! I can’t believe you’re out there! Amazing! It sounds like you’re in high spirits, keep up the good work!!

    Evan

  10. Schanell says:

    Thanks for all the comments!!1

  11. jules says:

    Yeah for American coffee!!! It sounds like the kids are enjoying your energy and pizzazz just like the rest of us!! What a cool experience. Take care and keep having fun.
    Love you~ jules

Leave a Reply

